The Optical Society of India

Dr. C S Rao

Prof. M De

The Optical Society of India (OSI) was founded in 1965 under the leadership of Dr. C S Rao then Director IRDE, Dehradun and Prof. M De, Professor Calcutta University. The basic motto of society is to represent the country at the International Commission of Optics (ICO) & The International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE). The main objective of the society is to promote and enhance the knowledge in both pure and applied optics. The year 2014-15 will be observed as the golden jubilee year of the Optical Society of India. To celebrate the beginning of golden jubilee celebration of OSI and commemorate the efforts of Dr CS Rao & Prof. M De as founder of OSI, an international conference (ICOL-2014) is planned to be spread over four days and is expected to attend by leading international & national experts in the field of Optics, Optoelectronics and Photonics. The conference is likely to be co-sponsored by ICO, SPIE, Optical Society of America (OSA) and other International bodies engaged in the relevant fields. The tentative dates for the ICOL-2014 have been fixed from 05 -08 March 2014.The focus of this conference will be on optics technology with emphasis on fabrication and testing of aspheric, diffractive ,large size optics, Micro optics(MO) & Nano photonics(NP) devices.


Aim to provide a wide forum for interaction and exchange of ideas among scientists, engineers and researchers activity engaged in the area of optics and optoelectronics. The conference features technical sessions including plenary talks, invited lectures, oral & poster presentations, exhibitions, and opportunities for networking and social events.

Topics to be covered :

  • Optical Design, Fabrication & Testing(ODT)
  • Optical Image Processing(OIP)
  • Optical Thin Films(OTF)
  • Optical Material(OMT)
  • Metamaterials(MTM)
  • Sensors & Displays(SDP)
  • Bio-Photonics(BPN)
  • Adaptive Optics(ADO)
  • Conformal, Freeform & Large Optics(CFL)
  • Thermal Imaging Technology(TIT)
  • Terahertz technology(THT)
  • Lasers & its Applications(LAA)
  • Optoelectronic & Photonic Devices(OPD)
  • Holography & Diffractive Optics(HOD)
  • Fiber and Integrated optics(FIO)
  • Optical Interferometry and meterology(OIM)
  • Optics and optoelectronics for strategic Application(OOS)
  • Micro-optics & MOEMS(MOM)
  • Micro & Nanofabrication technology(MNT)
  • Nonlinear,Quantum optics & Quantum Information Processing(NQQ)
  • Nanophotonics, Photonic Bandgap Structures &       Plasmonics(NPP)
  • Focal Theme:

    Emphasis on Design, Fabrication & Testing of Aspheric free form, Diffractive & Large size optics, Micro optics(MO) & Nanophotonics(NP) devices.

    For Details Contact :

    Dr A K Gupta, Director IRDE & Chairman Organizing Committee
    Dr S S Negi, Co Chairman Organizing Committee
    Sh Amitava Ghosh, Convenor, Organizing Committee, ICOL-2014, IRDE, Raipur Road, Dehradun - 248008, Uttarakhand, INDIA
    Dr Nimish Dixit, Co Convenor Organizing Committee
    Dr. K. Bhattacharya, Co Convenor Organizing Committee

    Phone :

       :   +91-135-2787167 & 2782449
       :   +91-135-2787161 & 2787128

    Sponsored By:

    Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO), India

    Endorsed by:

    International Commission for Optics (ICO), Optical Society of America (OSA) USA, The International Society for Optics and Photonics(SPIE), USA

    Sponsored by:-